Der Goldstandard der Zielgruppensegmentation

The gold standard for
target group segmentation

What are Sinus-Milieus®?

The Sinus-Milieus are a social model. They were developed by SINUS over 40 years ago and are considered the gold standard for psychographic target group segmentation in the German-speaking market. The Sinus-Milieus arrange people with similar values, a similar lifestyle and a comparable social situation into groups of “like-minded people”. The transitions between the milieus are fluid. We call this the “uncertainty principle” of everyday reality.

The Sinus models all have a very similar graphic structure. The vertical axis shows the social situation (ranging from low to high) and the horizontal axis shows the value orientation (ranging from traditional to postmodern). The higher a milieu is located in this graph, the more upscale its education, income and occupational group; the further to the right it extends, the more modern in a sociocultural sense the basic orientation of the respective milieu.

Basic Values Tradition Modernisation Re-orientation Social Status Upper class / Upper middle-class Middle middle-class Lower middle-class /Lower class PerformerMilieu10% ExpeditiveMilieu10% Consumer-HedonisticMilieu8% Precarious Milieu9% ConservativeUpscale Milieu11% TraditionalMilieu10% Adaptive-PragmaticMiddle ClassMilieu12% Post-MaterialistMilieu12% Neo-EcologicalMilieu8% NostalgicMiddle ClassMilieu11%
Sinus-Milieus in Germany

The Sinus-Milieus illustrate the motivations behind the various lifestyles in our society (values, life goals, lifestyles) and how they can be swayed (media use, communication preferences). They therefore offer marketing more information and better decision-making tools than conventional target group approaches. Products, brands, political parties, media etc. can be positioned on the Milieu Map.

Sinus-Milieu models are available for Germany, Austria, Switzerland and a further 45 countries. The models are continuously adapted to the socio-cultural changes in the respective societies.

Extensive information from the creators, developers and users of the Sinus-Milieu model can be found in our basic manual “Practice of Sinus Milieus”. Our information packages provide a comprehensive introduction to working with the Sinus-Milieus. Do you want to get to know the Sinus-Milieus in more detail? Then let us train you up to become a Milieu expert.

Sinus-Milieus®
Questions and Answers

What are Meta-Milieus, Milieus in Microgeography and Digital Milieus?

The Sinus-Milieu model has been extended for various areas:

  • Sinus Meta Milieus: The Meta Milieus provide a cross-national target group model based on milieus for international marketing. The Meta Milieus are currently available for 48 countries. They can be developed for other countries at any time. We distinguish between the developed markets (established markets) and the emerging countries (emerging markets). For each of these economic spheres, there is an independent model with nine milieus each. They describe the lifeworlds of people in a holistic and cross-nationally comparable way – without ignoring local characteristics.
  • Milieus in Microgeography: By linking the Sinus-Milieus with microgeographic data, the milieus have been transferred into space, for example into city districts or zip code areas, and can thus be used for spatial planning and direct marketing. The Sinus-Milieus can be projected – in Germany, Austria and Switzerland – both onto customer address databases and onto any area breakdown, down to the street or house as the smallest spatial unit.
  • Digital Sinus-Milieus: The Digital Sinus-Milieus translate the Sinus-Milieus into the Internet. This means that strategic target groups can also be identified and addressed online with pinpoint accuracy, for example in website traffic analyses, for content provision according to Sinus-Milieus or online ad campaigns according to milieu affiliation. The transfer of the Milieus to the digital communication channels is a decisive advantage in the cross-media address of target groups.

What are the benefits of the Sinus-Milieu concept?

Topicality

The Sinus-Milieus are under constant development. The basis for this is the trend research of SINUS-Institut along with various SINUS studies on people’s lifeworlds.

Sustainability

The Sinus-Milieus are therefore not a ’one-off typology’ like many other models but rather an approach that has been established for decades, with great market penetration.

Availability

This is evidenced by the integration of the Sinus Milieus into the most important market media studies, consumer and TV audience panels in Germany.

Datenintegration

The Sinus-Milieus are a hub for linking information on different topics from different sources, because the milieus tick the same way, whatever the research design. For example, the media behavior of the Expeditives from a representative survey can be combined with the basic travel orientations of this future milieu, which were researched in focus groups.

Connectivity

The approach is used by leading brand manufacturers and service companies for strategic marketing, product development and communications, and by political parties, ministries, trade unions, churches and associations (see Customers). Large media companies have been working with it for years, as have advertising and media agencies.

Economic efficiency

As Sinus-Milieu studies are published continuously, you learn more and more about your target groups. This wealth of experience can therefore be built on – often cost-neutrally. In other words, the existence of many pre-existing verified findings dispenses with the need to collect and analyze data from scratch, especially with regard to communication strategies and media usage (Milieu-specific touchpoints).

Internationality

The Sinus Milieus approach allows our customers to better understand the modern sets of values, and the relevant trends of today and tomorrow, and to target their target groups even more precisely – not only in German-speaking countries, but now in over 40 countries.

What are typical areas of application for the Sinus-Milieus®?

The areas of application for the Sinus-Milieus are wide-ranging. In addition to applications in politics, the Church, journalism or education, there is hardly a market category in classic marketing research for which the Sinus-Milieus have not been used. They enable a differentiated description of customer and buyer groups, the targeted positioning of products and services, the definition of market segments for new products and relaunches, the detection of market niches, the efficient addressing of buyer potential, and, last but not least, the early detection and localization of new motivations and constitutions.

The Sinus-Milieus can be used in many ways:

  • In qualitative and quantitative ad hoc research – take a look at our offering for representative short surveys.
  • Research at international level – the Sinus-Meta Milieus exist for more than 40 countries and group together people who are similar in their outlook on life across national borders.
  • As a basis for customized target group solutions (also for the empirical location of personas).
  • For classic media planning, e.g. via various market media studies (best4planning or TGI Weltweit) and TV panels in Germany and Austria.
  • Sinus-Milieus in Microgeography allows the enrichment of customer databases and can be used for direct marketing and spatial planning.
  • Digital-Sinus-Milieus – the link for targeting, website analysis and branding – is the key to successful cross-media targeting.
  • With Sinus-Milieus you get concrete insights into the values, attitudes, and consumer/brand preferences of your target groups – the prerequisite for successful image work, brand positioning and communication planning.

How can you obtain information and data regarding the Sinus-Milieus®?

An introduction to working with the Sinus-Milieus is provided by our information packages, which are updated annually with the latest statistics.

We have access to various population-representative market media studies and can therefore carry out individual counts and market-describing analyses for you – if you wish, according to demographic subgroups pre-defined by you and/or according to Sinus-Milieus.

You can also have us collect new and targeted target group data at any time. If you need quick answers to a few questions, we recommend a representative short survey. Of course, we also offer more extensive customized market and social research studies.

SINUS:akademie offers lectures and workshops on the Sinus-Milieus. You can also acquire an official Sinus-Milieu certification as part of a continuing education program.

For more information on the Sinus-Milieus, we recommend the handbook “Praxis der Sinus-Milieus” (“Sinus-Milieus in Practice”) and/or taking a look at our publications.

Have SINUS-Institut train you up to become an officially certified milieu expert

SINUS-Institut offers a compact, cross-industry basic seminar on the Sinus-Milieus – the gold standard for target group segmentation for 40 years.

Sinus-Milieu certification

Sinus-Milieus® simply explained (with English subtitles)

This explanatory video shows how the Sinus-Milieus work (incl. examples) and what they can be used for (marketing, strategic target groups, personas / individuals, products, brands and ideas, touchpoints, topics, addressing, growth potentials).

To the video

Infoportal

Haben Sie bereits bei uns ein Konto eingerichtet, so können Sie sich einfach mit Ihrer E-Mail-Adresse und Ihrem Passwort hier anmelden.

Sorry, login failed. Please check your username and password.

Der Goldstandard der Zielgruppensegmentation

Der Goldstandard der Zielgruppensegmentation

Was sind Sinus-Milieus®?

Die Sinus-Milieus sind ein Gesellschaftsmodell. Sie wurden von SINUS vor über 40 Jahren entwickelt und gelten als Goldstandard der Zielgruppensegmentation. Die Sinus-Milieus fassen Menschen mit ähnlichen Werten und einer vergleichbaren sozialen Lage zu „Gruppen Gleichgesinnter“ zusammen. Die Übergänge zwischen den Milieus sind dabei fließend. Wir nennen das die „Unschärferelation der Alltagswirklichkeit“.

Die Sinus-Modelle sind grafisch alle sehr ähnlich aufgebaut („Kartoffelgrafik"). In der vertikalen Achse ist jeweils die soziale Lage (sie reicht von niedrig bis hoch) dargestellt und in der horizontalen Achse die Wertorientierung (sie reicht von traditionell bis postmodern). Je höher ein Milieu in dieser Grafik angesiedelt ist, desto gehobener sind Bildung, Einkommen und Berufsgruppe; je weiter nach rechts es sich erstreckt, desto moderner im soziokulturellen Sinn ist die Grundorientierung des jeweiligen Milieus.

Grundorientierung Tradition Modernisierung & Individualisierung Neuorientierung Konservativ-Etablierte10% Liberal-Intellektuelle7% Performer8% Expeditive9% Adaptiv-Pragmatische11% Hedonisten15% Prekäre9% Sozialökologische7% Bürgerliche Mitte13% Traditionelle11% Soziale Lage Oberschicht /Obere Mittelschicht MittlereMittelschicht Untere Mittelschicht /Unterschicht
Sinus-Milieus in Deutschland

Die Sinus-Milieus verdeutlichen, was die verschiedenen Lebenswelten in unserer Gesellschaft bewegt (Werte, Lebensziele, Lifestyles) – und wie sie bewegt werden können (Mediennutzung, Kommunikationspräferenzen). Sie bieten deshalb dem Marketing mehr Informationen und bessere Entscheidungshilfen als herkömmliche Zielgruppenansätze. In der Milieu-Landkarte können Produkte, Marken, Parteien, Medien etc. positioniert werden.

Sinus-Milieumodelle gibt es für Deutschland, Österreich und die Schweiz sowie für weitere 45 Länder. Die Modelle werden kontinuierlich an die soziokulturellen Veränderungen in den jeweiligen Gesellschaften angepasst.

Umfangreiche Informationen von den Erfindern, Entwicklern und Anwendern des Sinus-Milieu-Modells finden Sie in unserem Grundlagenwerk „Praxis der Sinus-Milieus“. Einen umfassenden Einstieg in die Arbeit mit den Sinus-Milieus liefern unsere Infopakete. Wollen Sie die Sinus-Milieus genauer kennenlernen? Dann lassen Sie sich zum Milieuexperten weiterbilden.

Sinus-Milieus®
Fragen und Antworten

Was sind Meta-Milieus, Milieus in der Microgeographie und Digitale Milieus?

Das Sinus-Milieumodell wurde für verschiedene Bereiche erweitert:

  • Sinus Meta-Milieus: Mit den Meta-Milieus steht ein länderübergreifendes Zielgruppenmodell auf Milieubasis für das internationale Marketing zur Verfügung. Die Meta-Milieus gibt es derzeit für 48 Länder. Für weitere Länder können sie jederzeit entwickelt werden. Wir unterscheiden dabei zwischen den entwickelten Märkten (established markets) und den Schwellenländern (emerging markets). Für beide ökonomischen Sphären gibt es ein eigenständiges Modell mit jeweils neun Milieus. Diese beschreiben ganzheitlich und länderübergreifend vergleichbar die Lebenswelten der Menschen – ohne dabei lokale Besonderheiten zu ignorieren.
  • Milieus in der Microgeographie: Durch Verknüpfung der Sinus-Milieus mit mikrogeografischen Daten wurden die Milieus in den Raum übertragen, beispielsweise in Stadtteile oder Postleitzahlgebiete, und können so für die räumliche Planung und das Direktmarketing genutzt werden. Die Sinus-Milieus können – in Deutschland und in der Schweiz – sowohl auf Kunden-Adressbestände wie auch auf beliebige Flächengliederungen projiziert werden, bis zum Straßenzug bzw. Haus als kleinster Raumeinheit. Für Österreich können die Sinus-Milieus auf Zählsprengelebene angeboten werden.
  • Digitale Sinus-Milieus: Die Digitalen Sinus-Milieus übersetzen die Sinus-Milieus ins Internet. Damit können strategische Zielgruppen punktgenau auch online ermittelt und angesprochen werden, etwa bei Traffic-Analysen von Webseiten, für Content-Bereitstellung nach Sinus-Milieus oder Online-Ad-Kampagnen nach Milieu-Zugehörigkeit. Die Übertragung der Milieus in die digitalen Kommunikationskanäle ist ein entscheidender Vorteil bei der cross-medialen Zielgruppenansprache. Die Digitalen Sinus-Milieus gibt es derzeit nur für den deutschen Markt.

Welchen Nutzen hat das Sinus-Milieukonzept?

Aktualität

Die Sinus-Milieus werden ständig weiterentwickelt. Basis dafür ist die Trendforschung des SINUS-Instituts sowie unterschiedlichste SINUS-Studien zu den Lebenswelten der Menschen.

Nachhaltigkeit

Die Sinus-Milieus sind also keine „One-off-Typologie“ wie viele andere Modelle, sondern ein seit Jahrzehnten etablierter Ansatz mit großer Marktdurchdringung.

Verfügbarkeit

Davon zeugt die Integration der Sinus-Milieus in die wichtigsten Markt-Media-Studien, Verbraucher- und TV-Zuschauer-Panels in Deutschland.

Datenintegration

Die Sinus-Milieus sind ein Knotenpunkt zur Verknüpfung von Informationen zu unterschiedlichen Themen aus verschiedenen Quellen, denn die Milieus ticken in jedem Forschungsdesign gleich. So lässt sich beispielsweise das Medienverhalten der Expeditiven aus einer repräsentativen Umfrage mit den grundlegenden Reiseorientierungen dieses Zukunftsmilieus kombinieren, die in Fokusgruppen erforscht wurden.

Anschlussfähigkeit

Der Ansatz wird von führenden Markenartikel-Herstellern und Dienstleistungsunternehmen für das strategische Marketing, für Produktentwicklung und Kommunikation ebenso genutzt wie von politischen Parteien, Ministerien, Gewerkschaften, Kirchen und Verbänden (siehe Kunden). Große Medienunternehmen arbeiten damit seit Jahren genauso wie Werbe- und Media-Agenturen.

Wirtschaftlichkeit

Da kontinuierlich Sinus-Milieustudien veröffentlicht werden, lernen Sie immer mehr über Ihre Zielgruppen. Auf diesem Erfahrungsschatz kann daher – oft kostenneutral – aufgebaut werden, d.h. es gibt viele gesicherte Befunde, die nicht von Grund auf neu erhoben bzw. gedacht werden müssen – gerade mit Blick auf Kommunikationsstrategien und Mediennutzung (milieuspezifische Touchpoints).

Internationalität

Der Ansatz der Sinus-Milieus erlaubt es unseren Kunden, das moderne Wertegemenge, die relevanten Trends von heute und morgen besser zu verstehen und ihre Zielgruppen noch präziser ins Visier zu nehmen – nicht nur im deutschsprachigen Raum, sondern inzwischen in über 40 Ländern.

Was sind typische Anwendungsbereiche der Sinus-Milieus®?

Die Einsatzgebiete der Sinus-Milieus sind breit gefächert. Neben Anwendungen in Politik, Kirche, Publizistik oder Pädagogik gibt es in der klassischen Marketingforschung kaum eine Marktkategorie, für welche die Sinus-Milieus noch nicht eingesetzt wurden. Sie dienen einer differenzierten Beschreibung von Kunden- und Käufergruppen, der gezielten Positionierung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen, der Definition von Marktsegmenten für neue Produkte und Relaunches, der Aufspürung von Marktnischen, der effizienten Ansprache von Käuferpotenzialen und nicht zuletzt der Früherkennung und Lokalisierung von neuen Motivationen und Verfassungen.

Die Sinus-Milieus sind vielseitig einsetzbar:

  • In qualitativer und quantitativer Ad-Hoc-Forschung – schauen Sie sich hierzu auch unser Angebot für repräsentative Kurzumfragen an.
  • Forschung auf internationaler Ebene – die Sinus-Meta-Milieus existieren für mehr als 40 Länder und fassen über Ländergrenzen hinweg Menschen zusammen, die sich in ihrer Lebensauffassung ähneln.
  • Als Basis für maßgeschneiderte Zielgruppenlösungen (auch für die empirische Verortung von Personas).
  • Für die klassische Mediaplanung: z.B. über diverse Markt-Media-Studien (best4planning oder TGI Weltweit) und TV-Panels in Deutschland und Österreich.
  • Mit den Sinus-Milieus in der Microgeographie ist eine Anreicherung von Kunden-Datenbanken sowie Direktmarketing und räumliche Planung in Deutschland und der Schweiz möglich. Für Österreich können die Sinus-Milieus auf Zählsprengelebene angeboten werden.
  • Mit den Digitalen Sinus-Milieus – das Bindeglied für Targeting, Website-Analyse und Branding – gelingt die crossmediale Zielgruppenansprache. Dieses Angebot ist aktuell nur für den deutschen Markt verfügbar.
  • Mit den Sinus-Milieus bekommen Sie konkrete Einblicke in Werte, Einstellungen, Konsum-/Markenpräferenzen Ihrer Zielgruppen – die Voraussetzung für erfolgreiche Imagearbeit, Markenpositionierung und Kommunikationsplanung.

Wie können Sie Informationen und Daten zu den Sinus-Milieus® beziehen?

Einen Einstieg in die Arbeit mit den Sinus-Milieus liefern unsere Infopakete, die jährlich mit den neuesten Zahlen aktualisiert werden.

Wir haben Zugriff auf verschiedene bevölkerungsrepräsentative Markt-Media-Studien und können daher individuelle Auszählungen und marktbeschreibende Analysen für Sie vornehmen – auf Wunsch nach von Ihnen vorab definierten demografischen Teilgruppen und / oder nach Sinus-Milieus.

Sie können über uns jederzeit auch Zielgruppendaten neu und gezielt erheben lassen. Falls Sie schnelle Antworten auf wenige Fragen benötigen, empfehlen wir Ihnen eine repräsentative Kurzbefragung. Natürlich bieten wir auch umfangreichere maßgeschneiderte Markt- und Sozialforschungsstudien an.

Die SINUS-Akademie bietet Vorträge und Workshops zu den Sinus-Milieus an. Sie können auch eine offizielle Sinus-Milieu-Zertifizierung im Rahmen einer Weiterbildung erwerben.

Für weitere Informationen zu den Sinus-Milieus empfehlen wir unsere Info-Broschüre, das Handbuch „Praxis der Sinus-Milieus“ oder einen Blick auf unsere Publikationen.

Lassen Sie sich vom SINUS-Institut zum offiziell zertifizierten Milieu-Experten weiterbilden

Das SINUS-Institut bietet ein kompaktes, branchenübergreifendes Basis-Seminar zu den Sinus-Milieus an, dem Goldstandard der Zielgruppensegmentierung seit 40 Jahren.

Sinus-Milieu-Zertifizierung

Sinus-Milieus® einfach erklärt

Dieses Erklärvideo zeigt, wie die Sinus-Milieus funktionieren (inkl. Beispiele) und wofür sie verwendet werden können (Marketing, strategische Zielgruppen, Personas / Personen, Produkte, Marken und Ideen, Touchpoints, Themen, Ansprache, Wachstumspotentiale).

zum Video

Infoportal

Haben Sie bereits bei uns ein Konto eingerichtet, so können Sie sich einfach mit Ihrer E-Mail-Adresse und Ihrem Passwort hier anmelden.

Anmeldung leider fehlgeschlagen. Bitte überpürfen Sie Ihren Benutzernamen und Ihr Passwort.